Sitting on the steep hill overlooking Paro Valley, the Paro Dzong (fortress) was built in 1644 to protect the valley from Tibetan invasions. It’s formal name is Rinchen Pung Dzong (usually shortened to Rinpung Dzong), means ‘Fortress on a Heap of Jewels’. The site was first built as a monastery then a big fortress for protection purpose.
Like most other Fortress, Paro Dzong is well-sited on a steep hillside adjacent to a main river and there is a watch tower at the back. Many of them remain in use, housing both monastic body and district government office.